In many countries today, celebrities have higher salary than politicians. Why are the reasons for this. Is this a good development?

The popularity and income earning of celebrities have become a matter of discussion in recent times that some people believe they can earn more than politicians. This essay attempts to discuss the reasons behind this and then give a personal opinion on whether this is a good or bad development. Firstly, there are wide ranges of reasons why celebrities can have higher salary than politicians. The first reason might not be unconnected to the booming of the entertainment industry. In many countries the industry is developing. For instance, the industry contributes significantly to Gross Domestic Products of many countries. The number two reason is the fact that their work is more rigorous, not to mention it requires more professional practice as well as innate talent and creativity than the work of politians. The evidence of this can be seen in the popular movie — Game of Thrones. Interviews with the actors and actresses revealed that they found the acting very challenging and strenuous. On my personal note, I believe this is not a good development because it can make the politicians envious. For instance, it is not uncommon —especially in developing countries — to see politicians buying latest vehicles when they see eyes of the world (movie stars and musicians) doing the same. In conclusion, the reasons why celebrities can earn higher than politicians is because of the development of the entertainment industry, and additionally, there work is often more difficult than that of political office holders. I also believe that this is not a welcoming development because it can lead to jeolosy by the politicians.