Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

While certain individuals perceive that sporting is vital for young people at school, others believe that this should be completely voluntary. In this essay I will discuss both views before coming down to a conclusion. On the one hand, sporting promotes a healthy life as well as refreshing a student's mind from educational stresses. To elaborate, being involved in physical activities allows the body to shed off some calories hence combating obesity. For example, research has shown that overweight tend to loose some weight when they immerse themselves in activities such as jogging, basketball. Additionally, sports act as a form of diversional therapy thus it refreshes the mind from book and assignment stresses hence vital to children. If schools where to ignore sporting, then health problems like depression and obesity would prevail. On the other hand, as much as physical activity is important, it should be completely voluntary. This is because some students suffer from certain health conditions which do not allow them to exercise. For instance, asthma which is exacerbated by dust and heart problems. Moreover, some might start to have poor grades due to sporting since they will be devoting more time than to education itself. For example, a learner might uses their study time to do athletics hence their grades will reduce considerably. I'm conclusion, sporting is extremely important in improving the health systems by prevent conditions such as obesity as well as refreshing the mind. However, caution need to be exercised to allow a balance in education and sporting and also history for students should be collected to rule out any diseases.