In many countries there is a shortage of suitable people for essential jobs. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

The serious labour shortage in a lot of countries causes many concerns especially when it comes to vital professions. In order to work out solutions, factors causing the issue have to be studied first then corresponding plans can be proposed. Of these factors key ones include education required for a certain position, student interests in the field and the number of employees needed in a particular industry. In terms of education, it is logical to have a shortage in specialities that require a high level of knowledge and skills, such as surgery and aviation industry, as not all students have the capability of enrolling in demanding and long courses, nor do all succeed in passing them. However, the financial agent may as well play a role. An aspiring person might be bright enough but not as rich to pay for tuition fees. For this reason, funding should be laid out for courses leading to jobs that suffer shrinking in the number of qualified individuals. Undeniably, not only must the money cover the university cost but also the student’s living costs. What is more, special fields may require working for long hours or during the night which makes them unappealing. Scarcity of certain workers can manifest itself too when there is a danger associated. As in the case of police officers and soldiers. Possibly, solving this needs to increase the pay for these roles and taking specific health and safety measures, which can include taking a vaccine or wearing protective equipment. On the other hand, labour shortage can be triggered by requiring a large number of employees, as how the case is with the pretentious need of hospitals for nurses. With an ageing population health service demand rises, therefore more nurses are needed. At the same time the staff should be available over day and night creating a large number of shifts that need to be filled. The action to take in this situation is quite complicated and tracing the root cause is essential. All in all, the agents for the problem vary and so do the resolutions. Naturally, exploring the implications for the unavailability of certain professionals is rather scary as it affects the whole structure of the community. Thus, in light of studies, new policies should be imposed and laws should be implemented to fix the unbalance.