In many countries, the quality of life in the large cities is becoming worse. What causes this problem? What measure can be taken to solve it?

Compromised Life standard in metropolitans is often at the top of the agenda throughout the world as the leading problem in the 21st century. This essay will explore how excessive garbage and environmental pollution are the major contributing factors are affecting the quality of life, and how through an awareness campaign and proper town planning by the governmental elite, this issue can be curtailed. There are myriad factors that are considered responsible for igniting problems in large cities. Firstly, people in densely populated areas produce excessive garbage, which serves as a medium for the growth of disease-causing bacteria because of a lack of proper waste management. These bacteria mix with fresh drinking water and cause fatal diseases in children and adults. Take an example of India, where multiple tons of garbage are produced each day that is improperly disposed of, results in the outburst of endemic diseases. Thus, the production of a large quantity of waste is the fueling force behind poor city life. Secondly, industrialization is considered a breeding ground for a decrease in quality of life. As smoke and poisonous gases emitted from industries mix with the air is the sole major reason behind air pollution. Industrial smoke causes lung diseases such as asthma, and lung cancer. For example, the air samples taken from large cities have been found to have higher proportions of poisonous gases. Hence, industrial development does fuel this issue. However, there are certain pragmatic measures that can be taken to raise the quality of life in big cities. The awareness cultivation programs for waste management in schools and offices would certainly prove effective in combating hazardous conditions in urban centers. Furthermore, viable management of town by giving basic facilities to stop migration from rural to urban areas would also be a better alternative. Through shifting industries to suburbs, the quality of life in cities can be upgraded. To sum up, even though mismanagement of waste and industrialization are the widespread cause, but through education and proper town and city planning, this problem can be curbed.