In many countries, the quality of life in large cities is becoming worse/ What do you think are the causes of this problem? What measures could be taken to solve it?

Are there more bad news than good news in today’s world? Or is it the media that is reporting more bad news than good news? Every day we are bombarded with news of disaster, crime, and terrorism. This raises concern over the effect media’s tendency to focus on issues rather than favorable developments have on individuals and society. This essay will discuss why I completely agree that it is harmful to news reports in the media to concentrate on problems and emergencies rather than positive developments. Firstly, exposure to negative press coverage can lead to the development of anxiety. This is because viewing negative news could make us perceive our own worries as more threatening and severe than it seems. For example, coverage of mass shootings in schools created new anxieties for the younger generation of students. Students relate to this situation, consequently making them insecure and distress about their safety in school constantly. This would also affect these students’ well-being, especially those suffering from chronic anxiety, as they may experience panic attacks, depression and many more. Therefore, I consider press coverage on issues rather than positive developments as detrimental. Furthermore, negative news coverage of violent crimes can promote copycat crime. Sensationalized coverage of violent crimes inspires contagion and copycat effects due to the attention these events received. For example, news reports on mass shootings and how it portrays the shooter inspire copycats. Since, intense news reports in the media glorify the shooter in the minds of other potential mass shooters. They would then seek the same attention by committing similar atrocities. Hence, I consider that focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development disadvantageous. In conclusion, taking everything mentioned into account I consider that it is harmful to individuals and society as a whole if news reports in the media has the tendency to focus on problems rather than positive developments. This is because the constant exposure to news of violence and destruction that lead us to perceive the world in an overly-negative light, not only causes anxiety but also promote copycat crime.