In many Countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of Crime? How can we deal with those causes?

Criminals are a menace to our society and it is a matter of concern that the crime rate has increased dramatically in many countries. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons behind the crimes and propose some solutions to combat the problem. First of all, the main reason behind the prevalence of crime is poverty as most of the people in developing countries are daily wagers, and they have to struggle for their bread. Out of hunger, some people start doing petty thefts at shops and cars, and by the time some of them become gangsters. A study conducted by a University in Denmark revealed that the children growing up in poverty are seven times more likely to be involved in violent crimes as young adults. Another cause is the over-ambitious nature of some individuals. These individuals keep an eye on other's wealth, and sometimes they become so desperate that start blackmailing rich people, and even kidnap their closed ones for ransom. To tackle this problem, the first and foremost step is strict law and order. In other words, the government should impose strict rules and regulations because incorruptible law enforcement authorities could perform the task of converting a criminal zone into safer region. For example, the US has a crime-rate of only 2% as compared to Somalia, whose crime-rate is 50% due to strict implementation of rules by the former. Secondly, the authorities should expand employment opportunities for the poor so that every individual could at least earn their living and live their life in a better way. In this way, the poor would not be compelled to do misdeeds to fulfil their minimum necessities. In conclusion, although the problem of crime is not insurmountable, it is the government's responsibility to solve these issues. I believe that regular policing of the danger zones and increased job opportunities for the deprived sections of the society are some of the solutions which should be considered to overcome them.