Some people believe subjects with practical applications are better, however, others think subjects that are theoretical are better.

Whether to choose a theoretical or practical subject is becoming increasingly controversial. While some people hold the belief that it is beneficial to take subjects with practical applications, others consider theoretical subjects more appropriate. This essay will discuss both views in depth. Applied subjects are preferred by an increasing number of people as they have reason to believe that these subjects will prepare them to be better equipped to face the challenges at the workplace. Subjects like home science, for example, allow students to cook different types of dish under timed conditions where a similar level of expertise would be expected from them at their place of work. People therefore find these subjects to be providing a more realistic approach, since they are directly related to the real life tasks which they would most certainly encounter in their future career and hence, are better prepared. In contrast to people who favour practical learning are those who believe subjects rich in theory are more effective. This is because it is fundamental to master the concept well before stepping into practicing what you have learnt. For example, profession such as medicine not only require medical students to have a clear understanding of the subjects studied, but also to memorize key information which is substantial for better practice. Without these basic knowledge, many professionals would lack the flexibility needed to manage complex situations, resulting in poor performances. In conclusion, although some people believe subjects with practical applications are better as they provide students with exposure that will mimic their future position, others maintain that subjects with theoretical aspect are more valuable, as students are accustomed to basic knowledge which will improve their chances of success.