In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified.

Smoking is banned in parks, restaurants, public-transports, colleges and schools in many nations. This essay agrees with this statement because it will prevent passive smokers from having different diseases and also encourages smokers to quit. The primary reason for not allowing smokers in public places is that this will prevent people from having to breath second hand smoke. Non-smokers develop different type of heart related diseases such as lung cancer, strokes and asthma, and something that non-smokers cannot avoid when they are near to a smoker. The British Health Council recently found that the non-smokers develop heart related diseases 4 times more than the smokers. The second main reason is to ban smoking is to reduce the number of smokers by motivating them to quit the habit of smoking. Smokers and non- smokers when socialize, often smokers ostracized from the social group because always they should go out of the gathering to light up. This will encourage them to avoid smoking and feel more a part of the group. This happened in Ireland, the first nation in the world to ban smoking nationwide. So it reduced the number of smokers. In conclusion, keeping smoking against the law will help innocent passive smokers from getting different diseases. Also it will reduce the smokers.