In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified.

One question that has caused a great deal of controversy over the years is whether the government should impose higher taxes on fast food since there is a growing number of citizens enduring health repercussions from the excessive consumption of fast food. In my opinion, although it is essential for the government to impose higher taxes on fast food, there are also alternative measures which the government could act. On the one hand, it is clear that imposing higher taxes on fast food is effective in preventing fatal health diseases. Firstly, since fast food could result in fatal health diseases that affect public health, the government has the responsibility to intervene in the fast food industry. In fact, the coronary heart diseases, which result from high sugar-based food, take as much as 500, 000 individuals lives each year, which would mean a reduction in a productive workforce for the nation's development. Secondly, by imposing higher taxes, many people, especially those who are under-privileged, may find fast food unavoidable and thus would refrain from purchasing fast food and start preparing meals at home On the other hand, although imposing higher taxes could be beneficial, there are certain methods that are as effective in order to reduce health problems resulting from fast food. Firstly, the government should raise the public awareness of how fast food could have detrimental effects on our body. This could be done by producing informative TV programs and incorporating courses on home-cooking in school curriculum to not only provide alternative healthy options but also teach children how to ensure a healthy diet. In that way, the government could still reduce the consumption of fast food while maintaining a sustainable food source for the under-privileged. Secondly, the government could enact laws that fast food manufacturers must involve healthy ingredients, such as vegetables, in the process of producing fast food. As a result, a balanced diet is acquired and a healthy lifestyle is maintained by the citizens. In conclusion, the act of imposing higher taxes by the authorities could somewhat reduce the detrimental impact of fast food to the public health such as exerting a financial pressure on under-privileged citizens. However, in my opinion, there are superior measures which the government could take such as raising awareness or enacting strict laws on fast food.