Some people say the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal on public places. Other people say that this is not enough and other measures are needed.

The habit of smoking is a personal choice for adults. However, smoking publicly has been frowned at. While a few people think creating laws against public smoking is enough to stop the act, others believe there should be alternative methods for this and i stand with the latter opinion. On one hand, if a policy is made against smoking in an open place, many people will abide by the rule. This should be strongly backed up with penalties for defaulters. These penalties may include a fine, a few days detention or forced rehabilitation. Drinking bars and lounges should be obligated to have this notice placed in strategic positions in and round their business places, to remind their customers that smoking is not allowed. Nevertheless, other methods can be used to increase awareness, as well as foster adherence to the no-public-smoking rule. Higher institutions and religious houses can offer counselling sections for smoking addicts, and classes to teach health, self value, and respect for other people. This will make people understand the health dangers of smoking, for both the smoker and the people around the smoker. The government can also hike the price of cigarettes, to discourage its purchase. Continuous awareness should be given to the masses by the government. For example, frequent announcement on all media platforms. All of these methods will increase the probability of eradicating public smoking. In conclusion, I believe that even though illegalising public smoking can reduce people's indulgence in it, it is not a strong enough factor to totally eradicate this behaviour. Therefore, other ways such advertisements, counselling from universities, as well as religious homes, etc. Should be included to ensure a better result.