In many countries, it is becoming less common for people to look after elderly relatives themselves. Instead, the care is provided by professionals. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Undoubtedly, in the 21st century, the care of the elderly population is taken by health care professionals, and this practice has become more prevalent than in the past, especially in resource-rich countries. In contrast, the care provided by relatives has decreased. In my opinion, this is a favorable development. In today’s world, the younger generation has less time to look after their old parents because of their hectic work schedules and cut-throat competition to earn a significant amount of money. The younger people usually forsake their old parents if they are sick, dependent on others for their daily needs such as bathing, feeding, taking medications, and attending doctor’s appointments. These frail older people eventually become a burden on their kids, and this feeling can create dire problems such as elder abuse and neglect. Some younger people who manage their sick and old parents at homes usually worry about their parent’s safety and wellbeing when they are at work. For the reasons mentioned above, it is very crucial to have professionals to look after the elderly. Nowadays, there are many skilled nursing facilities and old age homes supported by the governments, and these facilities are equipped with modern age technologies and health care professionals, who can take good care of older adults. These trained professionals can provide twenty-four-hour services like medications, feeding, and even entertaining old and sick individuals. Additionally, in old age homes, people can play games with co-residents and enjoy their last days of life with dignity and happiness without being a burden on their kids. To summarize, the care of elderly individuals taken by professionals in a positive development for both the elderly and their relatives.