In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level.

There are various opinions circulating the issue of imposing a maximum limit to one’s salary. While it may seem more sensible to impose a limit, there are many reasons justifying the act of not doing so. In my opinion, it is more appropriate to refrain from imposing a salary limit as it will not only decrease the happiness of the general population but also lower the standard of living in addition to marring the nation’s image. Firstly, there are clearly advantages in imposing such a limit. Gaps between the upper and lower echelons of society will reduce, causing people to be less discriminating against one another. Furthermore, the country is then able to greater conserve monetary resources and utilize them in meaningful ways, such as improving the quality of the nation’s public education system to better enrich its denizens and prepare them for the competitiveness of modern society. Moreover, crime rates will decrease due to the greater financial equality introduced such that people will be less inclined to steal from others. However, I believe that it is better to not impose a limit. The primary drawback of doing so is a major decrease in the standard of living, as people will have less access to extravagant luxuries due to lesser funds in their possession. Furthermore, as competition is the very impetus driving a nation’s growth, such a limit will only dampen competition in the workforce which will serve to cause lesser productiveness among people ultimately impeding the nation’s growth thus marring the nation’s image. Lastly, the general population will be less happy due to less access to material indulgence and at the deplorable image of the nation. In conclusion, I believe the disadvantages of imposing a limit far outweigh its advantages and it will only serve to harm the general welfare of the nation and its netizens as it will not only lower the standard of living but also the population’s happiness.