In many countries, a few people earn very high salaries. Some people think that this is a positive thing for the country. Other people believe that governments should not allow salaries to be over a certain level.

Today's world, in some nation's income range is too wide that few are earning an extremely high remunerations. Some people believe that earning a high income is in favour of a nation while others think that this trend does more harm than good, hence the government should limit it up to a certain pay level. In this essay, I will discuss both views and outline my opinion on that. To begin with, people who are highly skilled and talented should be rewarded with higher pays as a recognition of their hard work. Authorities should take actions to retain these people, if not they are moving to other countries where they can earn well with their skills. For example, human capital flight is much high in Sri Lanka, many skilled engineers, doctors and scientists are migrating due to the low wages in Sri Lanka. Furthermore, high salaries are a sign of a country's wealth and it's encouraging others to work harder to achieve the same. On the other hand, the government should ensure that salary scale is reasonable that it does justice to the people for what they offer back to the state. If someone is getting paid unnecessarily for doing nothing, then the authority should take necessary actions to stop it immediately. For example, in some organizations, junior employees are doing all the heavy work with no support from their superiors, yet when it comes to the pay, minors are earning very little compared to their superiors. In addition, limiting high pays would bring equality in the salary scale. In conclusion, I believe that it is a must to keep salary levels high for the people who rightfully deserve it and it's the government's responsibility to scale it appropriately. If not, the country will lose most skilled and talented people due to this matter.