In many cities, young people prefer shopping as a form of leisure activity, why do you think this happens and is it a positive or negative development?

In the era of urbanization, shopping complexes can easily be seen at everywhere. As the standard of living increases, a majority of adolescents spend more time at there more often, as it is a part of relaxation moment for them these days. However, in my opinion, I believe that this can brings a negative impact to the young generation. First of all, shopping complex is where most people go to shop necessary item and goods for the necessity needs and at the same time, there is some shop where they can enjoy themselves such as café, game arcade and movie theater. For this reason, the children tend to enjoy spending their leisure time at there rather than in the outdoors. Despites of that, the teenagers use their parent’s money to enjoy themselves as going to these places requires extra cash to pay for the expenditures. Therefore, this leads to overspending their money on things that are unnecessary to them. Eventually, they will be more obsessed in spending more money just to have a good time. For example, there are reports stated teenagers in Malaysia spend about RM 100 per month just by going to the theater as they go every time a new movie is released. Besides that, frequently going to the shopping mall can jeopardized their academic results as they spend less time at home doing their revision. Furthermore, lack of supervision of their parent can lead to bad behavior and began to rebel against their parents and the society. For instance, a study showed that students that spends time in the super mall tends to skip classes from school more often and having lower academic result in the examination. Moreover, students are spending more time in shopping complexes are likely to involve in crimes such as snatch theft and burglary as they desperately need more cash to waste on item and services in the super mall. In conclusion, it is clearly a negative impact towards the development of the future generation to spend their valuable time on mere shopping. Therefore, parents are urged to keep an eye in their children’s activities and only allow them when they are mature enough to make reasonable decision.