In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

The trend of more and more people moving to the large apartment blocks in many cities is being increasingly witnessed these days. Although this trend can open the additional advantages in the future, it could also bring some issues associated with privacy and safety. In my opinion, the positive points of this development surpass the negative aspects. The crucial beneficial factor of this tendency is that it can offer convenience to the citizens as it enables people to access a wide range of services in the complexes, including laundry service, 24/7 security and exercise facilities. In addition, it provides an opportunity for us to fit into the community and gain some significant social experience that will reward us later on in the future. Take myself for example, there are many interesting groups in the neighbourhood where I live and I have met many fascinating people who have same interests with me by joining in their different activities. As can be seen, these advantages have a profound impact on us. However, every coin has two sides. One main negative consequence of this development is that it may lead to some privacy issues as people have to share limited public spaces with their neighbours. Additionally, the whole neighbourhood could be adversely affected if we have neighbours who are lack of responsibilities and don’t care about others. For instance, a recent survey conducted in Japan has revealed that nearly 80% of people have had issues related to noise or hygiene with their neighbours before. As a result, our life quality could be negatively impacted by these problems. To sum up, living in the apartment blocks is ubiquitous in recent years. Taking everything into consideration, I’m inclined to say that the overall benefits of this tendency are superior.