In many cities, many people are living in large apartment blocks. Does this accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

With the revolution of modern architecture, the proliferation of skyscrapers is vastly outnumbered. Therefore, in several cosmopolitan areas, people prefer to live in flats rather than single houses. Such accommodation has its own merits and demerits, which will be elucidated in this essay. There are abundant of advantages that can be received from living in high-rises. Firstly, it requires less effort to maintain. Indeed, apartments essentially have supervisors and janitors to look after the basic chores of the building, and so it would be beneficial for working professionals who do not have time for such duties. To illustrate, nowadays, many individuals are moving to different cities for their living and visiting their hometown on weekends; hence, opting for a flat is an ideal choice for them. Furthermore, considering the over-population issue into account, owning a house is not suitable for a person as it could worsen the existing land demand. Thus, it provides various benefits for single workers. There are many downsides which people have to encounter in the multi-story apartments. It is irrefutably true that the stringent regulations of the high-rises would be unsuitable for some masses. Since an apartment is a communal place, there are strict rules which dwellers should have to follow. To exemplify, in India, almost all buildings have restrictions on smoking, pets and noise pollution. Besides this, it also creates privacy issue. Despite the upsides, privacy is always a concern when it comes to apartment blocks since they are close to each other and neighbours often know others confidential matters. In conclusion, this essay discussed both the benefits and drawbacks of residing in high-rises. I tend to reiterate that, despite having a few disadvantages, multi-story apartments are superior.