In manny countries, the proportion of older people is increasing. Could this have a negative or positive impact on society?

Recent studies show that the number of old aged people compared to youth, have been increasing across many nations. Many are of the opinion that it is beneficial to the society while others think that a surge in the proportion of old age people is a setback for the growth of the society. This essay will discuss both pros and cons of having a larger amount of elders in society. To begin with, a section of people thinks that having older people helps in building a strong character of the society. In other words, young people would imbibe great values from elders and remain close to their culture. Moreover, a larger section of society would always be satisfied and content in life. As a result, the crime rate would decrease. Thus, old age people bring stability to the community. However, there is a plethora of advantages a greater number of youth in the society facilitates. First, young people are full of ideas and prospectives. This has led to elimination of myths already existing in religions and widened the mindset of individuals. In addition, young blood is keen technology users. This helps society remain up-to-date with the technological advancements. For example, young ones easily operate computers and cell phones, whilst, old ones. Indeed, youngsters curb orthodox thinking pre-existing in cultures and help in the overall growth of the neighbourhood. In conclusion, although elders keep individuals close to their roots, youngsters on the other hand, aid in the development process. Hence, it is clear that a right proportion of all the age groups are needed for the proper functioning of any society.