In many countries the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is the fact that nowadays people are living more than earlier in industrialised nations. Even though there will be undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, certain solutions can be applied by society to minimise the adverse effects. To embark with, as the people live longer and the population of well developed countries grows, there are several problems in the society which are expected. The major problem arises related to tax, due to the elderly people have more population, government have to pay more pension for them. While at the same time there are less proportion of young adults, who work and pay the taxes. Moreover, the healthcare system can be suffering from stress and workload. Therefore, government has to spend more budget on health department to manage all resources, which again add burden on society and ruling party. In addition, young people have to look after elderly more, which might enhance the stress amongst them socially and financially. However, there are certain measures that government could take to solve the above mentioned problems. First of all, a rather simple solution would be increase retirement age for working adults, such that Legislators have more fund from tax and less burden to handle the pensions. For example, there are some countries which have a retirement age above 65, Norway has a retirement age around 68 years. Following measure will be increasing numbers of migrating workers, Thus there will be more adults who work for nationally and pay more taxes. Also, less likely solution, but necessary to mention would lessen the budget on other areas and increasing budget on health, which will eventually help senior citizens. To put this in a nutshell, I opine that although there are some negative aspects of greying society, the negative aspects can be suppressed by applying a few simple tricks by government with certain measures.