In earlier days, clothes used to be as per culture, now clothes are more similar around the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

Clothes used to represent traditions in earlier times, while people, nowadays, wear increasingly same kinds of outfits throughout the world. This essay thinks that this is a positive development because the chances of discrimination against cultures would be minimized, and clothing industries would be benifited. To begin with, similar-looking clothing helps people to avoid humiliation against their tradition from certain groups or individuals. This is to say that, some people bully or discriminate against others who wear typical cultural outfits outside of their country. By wearing similar-looking outfits as everyone around would stop those who humiliate them. For example, native American people were discriminated against in public vehicles when they used to wear their own traditional clothes in the 1960s, but it was dramatically stopped when they start to wear similar outfits as other Americans afterward. Apart from that, clothes that do not represent any tradition but solely designed to address people’s needs and follow fashion support the clothing industries. This means clothes of different designs and brands could be sold around the world if people wear similar kinds of garments that help the garment industries to bloom. For instance, a study conducted by the BBC revealed that China alone supplies 70% of the world’s clothing demand in the world. In conclusion, people in the world today wear more similar clothes, whereas, people in the past used to wear outfits as per their culture. I believe that this is a positive development because this helps people to avoid getting humiliated because of their cultural clothing, and this supports the clothing industries in the world.