some people think that children should be taught to be competitive at school. others, however say that cooperation and teamworking skills are more important.

It is often thought that schools ought to teach children to be competitive, while other people feel that the emphasis should be on cooperation. In my opinion, cooperation and teamwork teach children important skills that help throughout their life. Several people believe that working as a team helps children develop their interpersonal skills and I agree. Such skills benefit children, as they will have to engage with others during their education, work or in general society and it gives children the confidence to deal with people. Teamwork also helps children understand that each person has strengths and weaknesses and teaches them to leverage each other's strengths while working as a group. Several studies by Harvard University have found out that students with team working skills are more successful at work, as they know how to deliver as a group. On the other hand, a section of society believes that competitiveness is an important skill that needs to be inculcated in school. Competition motivates students to perform better and score higher marks. This drive also helps students to achieve success both in tertiary education as well as in the job market. Statistics have found that children with competitive skills are more successful in getting university degrees and have higher chances of landing well paid employment early on in their career. In conclusion, while competition benefits children early on in their lives, I believe cooperation and teamwork skills help children grow and sustain in the long run.