In developing countries, children in rural communities have less access to education. Some people believe that the problem can be solved by providing more schools and teachers, while others think that the problem can be solved by providing computers and Internet access.

It is an indisputable fact that a proper education is still out of reach for youngster born in rural parts of developing nations. With the concern being expressed over whether to build more schools and sending more teachers or the provision of computers and Internet access is the best way to tackle this problem, there emerged two opposing groups. In my opinion, the former concept seems more feasible. On the one hand, it is believed that mastering the computer use allows children from remote areas to compete against other candidates in the race for decent future jobs. That is mainly because modern jobs will require employees to be familiar with at least some computer applications so as to boost their productivity at work. For example, a recent research revealed that people who have a fundamental knowledge of computers are twice more likely to get a rewarding job than those who does not. Even though teachers may improve the situation, there is no guarantee that all of them are adequate as well as intelligent. Moreover, youth can self-study at home without having to go to class or being completely dependent on teachers, spending time more efficiently. Thus, it goes without saying that technology is the best method to tackle this problem. On the other hand, it is understandable why some people consider that teachers and schools are key elements in proper education. Firstly, schools function as meeting places for students. In this way, students have the opportunity to learn the importance of collaborating and socializing with other people. Even if with the assistance of technology children can self-study, students in remote areas are highly unlikely to learn by themselves effectively without the supervision of tutors. For example, teachers can acknowledge these students’ deficiencies and help them to solve their problems by repeating the same explanation, giving suitable exercises or even tutoring them privately. Furthermore, it is the trust and bond between teachers and learners that creates the learning environment while virtual learning simply cannot do that. Therefore, needless to say that tutors and schools are a key element in solving this problem. In conclusion, although technology has helped several children to progress more rapidly every now and then, I opine that teachers still play an irreplaceable role in the education process.