In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

One of the most challenging and controversial questions of today’s society is that who should be responsible for old people’s care and expenses: either it should be the government or the family members. In my opinion, it should be a mutual responsibility of both the government and the family. To start with, parents plays the most important and strong part in a child’s life. They give them values, manners, love and care. They provide them support morally as well as financially. They try their best to give their child the ideal life they could imagine. So, when these parents get old and need help and support in almost every manner, then children should not run from their duties. They should take care of their parents as good as their parents did when they were young. On the other hand, all the families don’t have the same structures. Some might have problems such as financial or accommodation. Then at this point, I believe that the government should come forward and take steps to make senior citizen’s lives better. The people who are now old have paid the tax in their whole life and that’s why the government should take their financial responsibilities as well.   Old citizens should have equal rights on government funds as they have served and paid taxes which help the government to run the state. I strongly claim that government should have a fixed fund or deposit for individuals and as well as for old homes. In addition, I like the idea of the security deposit as for example, an old person can live with his family without being a burden on them. Finally, in my opinion, both the government and the family should possible responsibility to make senior citizens happy and give them a comfortable life.