In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In the United Kingdom, older people often leave their families to live with their older peers in nursing homes and sometimes the authority is responsible for their welfare. In my opinion, the government and the family should be responsible in paying for the care of the older ones. Firstly, the family is responsible for the well-being for their aged and should not be left at the mercy of the state only. This is because the elderly have lived with their families before they came of age and they need their support not only financially but in other aspects as their families are indebted to them. For example, older people that paid the tuition fees of their children need the support and responsibility for them in other to not feel abandoned or unsupported. Furthermore, state should assist the family in the payment of the care they receive from nursing homes so as to reduce the burden on families that are not financially buoyant. In addition, the government owes the elderly pensions and this can be used to aid their care in geriatric homes, it is also within the rights of the elderly to be catered for by the law as a citizen of the country. For example, tax paid by older people when they were working can now be diverted to their care and well- being in geriatric homes. In conclusion, the government should assist the family of the aged to ensure they receive adequate care and financial assistant they will be needing. It is not the job of the family nor the government alone, but the job of both.