In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A rapid increase in the human population has raised a demand for more land and resources. In order to build new houses, clearing countryside land is required however a group of people opposes the idea of construction in such areas. In addition, they encourage the preservation of the outskirts. In my opinion, it is crucial to protect the countryside and avoid building homes there. The countryside often consists of forests and natural surroundings vital for human existence. It is worth considering that the urbanisation of these places will result in reckless deforestation. Furthermore, the decline in green cover will arise the problem of air pollution which is the major cause of respiratory diseases among people residing in tier 1 cities. For example, according to Annual AIMS Report 2020, there is a rise in pulmonary and cardiac disorders in elderly residing in New Delhi due to the exposure of harmful gases such as carbon monoxide and carbon dioxide. There is no denying that the industralisation of suburbs has adversely affected the wildlife. A wide variety of living species, other than mankind, has lost their lives over the past few decades and become endangered. The drastic urban sprawl has accelerated the exploitation of flora and fauna that in turn, disturbed the entire ecosystem. For instance, a study conducted by ‘The Indian Forest Association, ’ there is a decrease in Honeybee’s population by 58 percent in last 18 years which has led to an immediate fall in the pollination rate therefore it is a stressful sign for all of us. In conclusion, it is the high time when humankind must realise the importance of the environment, wildlife thus conserves the countryside. The concept of sustainable development should be considered, and strict laws should be implemented that can help save the protected zones and natural reserves for our present and future generations.