In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Old people who used to live in Britain often sent to a home for the aged where there are medical staffs like nurses who provide proper care for them. There is still no agreement between the government and families of aging patients whether who should pay for the expenses for this kind of care. But for me, the family should take the responsibility of the payments. As a Filipino citizen, we are not used to sending our old relatives to nursing homes. Filipino’s are very family oriented. We are cultured to take care of our family members when they get older, most especially if it is our parents. As much as possible, we took care of them in our home. So all the expenses are being shouldered by the family members. And it not considered as a burden, since Filipinos are used to this kind of family culture. The government has its responsibility too to its people. For instance, if the family does not have the capacity to pay for the expenses. The governing body should help the family as much as they can, like giving cash assistance and allowances for older people and building homes for the abandoned aged patients. The government should be a great support system for those family who does not have the capacity to provide the best optimum care for their older family members. I believed that family is our home. Being cared of by our loved ones would be the best gift that we can receive. Being ready for this kind of situations is the best plan and investment that we should consider. Investing for our retirement plan and insuring our needs in the future would be a great help not only for ourselves but also for our loved ones.