In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, it is very common for most families that all family members work and therefore have limited time to look after their elderly through the day. That is one of the reasons why people, especially in Britain, may prefer living in a house with old people where they will receive adequate care and treatment. However, in some cases, the government has to bear the financial burden for such services, which leads to differing views in society. But what is the best way of funding houses for old people and relatives or government shall take its responsibility? In the first place, these services or a big portion of it shall be compensated by family members, who decide to choose this way forward. The main reason for this is huge financial implications of maintaining high level services across the country by any government for all these houses. In fact, if we consider the minimum retirement age, which would normally be between 60-65 in most countries, look through statistics of the people above this limit, and give due regard of monthly expenses per person, the figures will come across as astronomical. Secondly, government funded organizations would be more standardized and with minimum services due to above explained financial burdens, while if family members pay the associated expenditures, this field may become a separate branch of industry with its competitive environment. As a result, people may get additional care in excess of minimum services and may choose the service package they can afford. To summarize, the government must avoid the massive expenditures associated with maintaining the houses for elderly people and shall allow private organizations to enter this field and bring the required investments.