In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

There was a time when elders were better adjusted to the joint family structure with extended kin providing care and support. However, nowadays, due to lack of such caring system, taking care of the elderly has become a challenge. To remedy the problem, a relatively new trend is prevailing where elders are moving in their age cohort in old age homes. In Britain, this gives rise to a debate as to who should bear the cost of taking care of the elderly, the government or the family. There are some people who are of the opinion that the government, being responsible for the welfare of its citizens should shoulder the responsibility of elderly care, whereas on the other hand, few believe that burden of elderly care should not be placed on the national exchequer rather families should bear such cost. I am of the view that the families should bear the cost of such care. The first and the foremost reason is the nature of parent child relationship. In my opinion, it is a moral and ethical obligation of children to extend care, support and love to their parents when they reach old age like the way their parents did when the children were young. Moreover, the family would better understand the elderly person and would be in a better position to provide better care rather than relying on an absolute stranger. Elders would be more at ease and feel comfortable among their family members who would be emotionally attached to them and provide care with affection. Secondly, since the cost of elderly care would not be borne by the state, it would save the government a lot of money which can be utilized for some other beneficial purpose, especially in desperate times of economic woes when the government is already resorting to austerity measures. Therefore, considering the aforementioned facts, it would be justified to say that families should pay for the care of their elders.