In a number of countries, some people thinks it’s necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

The question of where governments should invest money to improve transportation is a controversial topic in some countries. I will discuss both sides of public opinion to constructing new high-speed train's railways or developing existing public transport. Firstly, I will discuss why people think that fund should be spent on high-speed railway systems and secondly I will explore the benefits of improving public transport. , On the one hand, many people claim that governments had better spend a lot of money to build new railways for fast trains due to needing speedy intercity transportation. High-speed railway systems among the cities can help improve undeveloped areas. For example, with more high-speed train, transport from rural cities to urban ones can be made easier and transportation expenses might be reduced. Another reason people think like that is to compare to other types of transports, railway systems more durable. It is easy to say no vehicle is as long-lasting as train. Besides, railroads do not need to be spent much more money for maintenance. On the other hand, some people want the government to have investments to improve daily public transportation to make an easier city life. Spending money on public transport can increase of bus or subway's frequency and therefore people commute easily. Furthermore, it might help people who live in suburban areas socialize and travel between downtown and the city centre. For instance, due to population, city centres have many more theatres and audiences who live in suburban have difficulties to watch plays and socialize other people. To sum up, there are a lot of options for governments to improve transportation system intracity or intercity. In my opinion, I feel very strongly about to invest in high-speed railroad systems and governments should make their priority to spend public resources prudentially.