In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

As nations build rapid rail networks connecting their cities, some people argue the money should rather be spent on improving existing public transportation systems. While there are merits in both the arguments, tight budget allocation for infrastructure projects compels many nations to choose either of them. One prime reason behind constructing fast train networks is to avoid overcrowding of cities. Consequently, this enables people to live comfortably in their hometown, in their own house, along with their family; and take the train to cities for their work every day, spending the least amount of time travelling. Furthermore, this arrangement boosts the rural economy and enhances the mental wellbeing of citizens by keeping families together. Thanks to its mass transportation network, Singapore is a phenomenal example where the masses do not need to live in rented houses closer to cities, but rather in their own homes far away. On the contrary, being mammoth and long-running, fast train network projects deny time and funding to maintain existing public transportation systems. As the majority of a nation’s citizens rely on existing public transport systems for their travelling needs, it is of paramount importance to maintain and constantly upgrade them. Sri Lanka is a prime example of how futuristic, ambitious bullet train projects have ended up crippling the maintenance of the present transportation systems, as the island nation’s government grapples for funding, having spent all the fortune on its ambitious projects. I strongly believe, while acknowledging the merits of both the arguments, the foremost importance should be given to keep the existing roads and rail networks in working conditions, as they keep the wheels of the economy moving; nevertheless, additional funding should be sought to launch futuristic transportation projects. Securing whatever it already has, a nation can then confidently take bolder steps into the future.