In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss bo…

In this contemporary era, Public transport plays a imperative role in reducing the traffic congestion. Therefore a considerable amount of masses opines a large funds should be allocated to build latest railway lines so that trains can commute between the towns at a exponential pace, whilst some argue it should be utilized to improve current public transport. I shall examine both views before establishing my opinion. To embark on, Trains cause minimal environmental degradation compared to road casualties. In other words, most of the trains usually commute in the countryside which results in less pollution and congestion in cities. Secondly, accidents in railway causalities are very rare. Besides this, most of the people feel safe commuting in the train due to safety and reliability. For instance, a recent toll conducted by researchers state, there has been a shift of 38% from roadways to railway due to fast and secure transportation. Thus it is clear why most of the individuals opinions allocating funds to construct new railway lines. On a contrary, proponents of the above argument state spending money on railway is problematic as most of them commute within the city. In fact, construction of new flyovers and expanding roads can help in a better way. Also, this reduces traffic congestion and can make a way for the public to commute conveniently. Secondly, by providing more public buses and trams would help individual reach office and school at time. So few people opine this more fund to be allocated to boost public transport. In conclusion, Although by improving existing transport can alleviate some problems, it fails to reduce the pollution which is threatening the environment. Thus I believe allocating immense funds for railway lines in cities would help solve most of the problem and would help society in a significant way.