In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

In recent times, the seamless modes of transport are often put on the spotlight. People from various countries perceive that, it is essential to upgrade their existing transport services be that as making dedicated railway lines for the bullet trains to run at a faster rate. On the contrary, there are others who opine that instead of making new railway lines or any new construction for transport, the funds should be used to upgrade their existing public transport which is in disarray. This essay will cover both the views with my opinion inclined towards the former. On the one hand, there are numerous advantages in building new railway lines for bullet trains to ply between two cities. As those high speed trains run on clean energy, thereby reducing the carbon imprint in the atmosphere as well as reducing the travel time to a greater extent for an affordable price. Although the cost to construct such state of the art facilities is soaring, the government is looking at a larger picture where the population level will be increased periodically and so these facilities are indispensable to mitigate its impact on the public transport. Moreover, the government can make up huge profits once people start using these facilities. Thereby, it can pay off its debts which it took to construct these facilities from various global institutions. On the other hand, nothing can be made on the fly. Building such huge facilities definitely need time and manpower. Instead of spending huge sum of money for building these services, the government can use those funds to improve their existing transport facilities like building bus rapid transit system, fixing the faulty railway lines and laying clean roads. For example, the road transport in Amritsar has been improved to a remarkable extent, soon after the government upgraded that to a Bus Rapid Transit system. It now caters to the needs of different kinds of people from farmers, students and employees. Moreover, building new amenities will also disturb the existing transport layouts which results in chaos and woeful traffic. To recapitulate, we cannot afford to live with legacy modes of transport, as the world is improving in better connectivity be that as transport or communication. Therefore, the government should come forward to improve the quality of life of its citizens by adapting to the new modes of transport based on clean energy models. If not, we would be digging our own graves to face a mighty oblivion.