In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

In the recent past, the expansion and innovation in an engineering domain is growing trend. Some people believe that it is required to upgrade the existing railway infrastructure, so that it is ready to incorporate the technology of fast trains, whereas, there is a section of people who think that the same funds should be utilized to provide more security and reliability with existing railway lines. In my opinion, it is important to maintain the balance between both approaches, as the evolution of new technology is not a blocker for enhancement of the existing system. Existing conditions of the public transport required to be monitored at regular intervals, later this would enable the authorities to realize the areas of improvement and also address the commuters' concern. For instance, removal of manual railway crossings and implementation of anti-train collision systems are some of the improvements which are planned already and being implemented by most of the countries. Similarly, the improvement of current lines would reduce the risk of train derailment and accidents. The maintenance phase is one of the critical phases of any operations which should not be compromised for the new developments. However, people should not downplay the role of up gradation for existing infrastructure to address the future issues like an increase in the number of commuters and expansion of the cities. Enhancing technology is one of the preeminent solution to address the person's expectations in terms of speed and secured commute. For example, countries like India has allocated a big fund for projects like a bullet train which would empower professionals across important business cities to meet in a couple of hours, this in turn would boost the country's economy. Upgrading of the existing resources is a critical exercise to keep the present system relevant in future. To conclude, the authorities should maintain the proper balance between the maintenance and up gradation of the infrastructure in use, as improvement of existing lines would keep the services relevant in the present, whereas, upgrading is required to keep the services capable enough to handle the prospective increase in the number of commuters and their challenges. Therefore, it clearly explains the importance of both the views to support present and future requirements.