In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

With the proliferation of mobility among people, it is very essential to have an efficient public transport system in every country. Among different modes of transport, some countries budget huge amount of money for sophisticated railway tracks, whereas others only consider improving their current public transport. In my view, it depends on countries' financial capacity and necessity of such advanced mode of transportation. On the one hand, it is very expensive to implement high-speed railway tracks and is highly sophisticated. Developed countries, like Japan, implemented bullet train system mainly to obliterate the hurdles faced by passengers travelling between distant cities. In fact, developing countries are also planning to implement the same. For instance, In India, where roads are always congested with traffic, the government is planning to construct a high-speed train system to connect main destinations. On the other hand, Some under developed countries may not have enough finance to fund for such huge projects. Moreover, some places are so thickly populated, that it is very difficult to acquire land for fixing new railway tracks. For example, even though India is planning to build a high speed railway line, laying tracks in densely populated cities, like Chennai and Bangalore, is going to create headaches to the authorities, due to the need for displacement of local people. Furthermore, enhancing waterways are far cheaper and efficient in some states and also can be implemented without displacing local inhabitants; albeit, slower than other modes. To conclude, the financial implications and the need for advanced mode of transports are the reasons behind countries' decisions to launch new railway traffic systems. It is advisable to low-income nations to stick on to the plans of upgrading their existing transport systems.