In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport

People, in some countries, prefer to have a fast and extensive rail transportation system while others think that improving the existing road transportation system is far more important and that is why more budget should be spent on roads. This essay discusses both views. Personally, I am in favour of developing and enhancing both. On the one hand, people in favour of having a speedy and reliable train communication system mainly base their ground on the fact that trains can carry a large number of passengers and goods at a time and can remarkably reduce the traffic congestion. Rail communication is safer, faster and can connect cities and towns that build a better connection than the conventional road transport system, according to these people. Furthermore, locomotives are already famous in many countries and have greatly improved communications there. Due to such advantages, people often opine that more money should be allocated for constructing new fast train lines. For instance, the train system in China and Russia both have a groundbreaking contribution to improving its overall communication system and many countries have started adopting this model. On the other hand, public transport system plays an essential role in interconnecting the different parts of the cities and most people use this system to travel to different places. Though trains can improve the city transport facilities, it is not an alternative to the existing road transports. That is why many people believe that the national budget should be utilised on improving public transport for the sake of better communication for mass people. For instance, the train line in the UK has always contributed to a great extent to the overall transport system in the country. Nevertheless, public transport has always been the main commuting mode for UK citizens. To conclude, I believe that the national budget should be fairly distributed for the improvement of the fast and new rail system as well as public transports for the overall expansion and improvement of the transportation system in a country