In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing transport.

Transportation is a means of moving humans from one place to another. In order to improve the means of transporting people and goods, some people believe that it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains, while others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. I would like to discuss the two views mentioned above as well as gives my opinion on both positions. Firstly, every government should spend large sums of money on building new railway lines for speedy trains because the modern ideology favours fast delivery. The advent and improvement in technology has affected the time needed to complete tasks and this has also affected human thinking so much that they expect everything to be done in a speedy manner. For example, in communication, online mails are delivered within seconds, as opposed to the earlier days of sending letters by post, which might take months to deliver. Thus, it is expedient to spend huge amount of money to build railway lines for very fast trains between cities. One of the results of this is improvement in trade and investment. However, government revenues should be spent on improving current public transport where a lot of capital has been used in developing them. Even though fast trains are important, it is not a wise decision to allocate funds to another project with the aim of abandoning the current project. For instance, the Lagos State Government in Nigeria has spent over $30 billion of taxpayers' money on constructing alternative route to ease traffic congestion, which is a major setback to its economy, therefore, it would be a bad decision to abandon the existing project for an entirely new one. The result is that, the Citizens would need to wait for a very long period for the new project to be concluded, thus it is advisable to improve the existing means of public transportation. So, in my view, I would advise the government officials to consider improving the existing means of transportation rather investing public funds in an entirely new one, even though the new project's advantages could be overwhelming. In other words, the government can spend large sums of money on the two projects, where there are enough funds to finance both projects.