In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Public transports such as trains, buses and trams are travel alternatives for those who are going to their workplace, studying at schools or looking to go for a vacation. Many consider that building intercity railways for rapid trains are rather essential though it involves a massive fund to do so; while others regard that improvising the present public transport is more worthwhile. I am more inclined to support the latter as making new railways will be less costly and time consuming for those who need to travel between cities. First of all, most people will opt for public trains if it is cheaper compared to driving a car or faster than taking a bus. In other words, building new train lines will attract new passengers who previously had to rely on cars or buses to take public trains instead. This is because a car owner is required to pay for expensive fuel and car maintenance while one would only need to purchase a train ticket which will likely be cheaper. Take the example of the MRT system in Singapore: many Singaporean citizens do not own a car for personal use as it is less costly to use the train. Thus, constructing new railways will help citizens to save on their expenditure in the long term. On the other hand, improving the present public transport involves less capital and will interest those who previously had a bad impression of using public transports. This can be done if the government does repairs, upgrades, renovations on the vehicles and the stations. For instance, UK governments have upgraded single decker buses to double decker ones; consequently, this has draw the attention of passengers who previously dreaded waiting at bus stations as double decker buses are able to transport more passangers at once. Therefore, it will be wise for the government to make its current public transports so as to boost its popularity among people who were at an inconvenience to use them. In a nutshell, the essay has discussed the reasons to support constructions of new railways for trains that travel very fast including influencing more people to become train users as it will be less costly. In addition, the essay also stated that upgrading existing transports will urge previous customers to try using them again. In my perspective, new railways will be better as it it will save time and money for the users in the long term.