In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Public transport is a very essential medium and had become an important part in every common man's life, and is becoming a good solution to avoid environmental issues. While, many think that Government should spend large sum of money in constructing new railway lines for running super fast trains between cities. I personally think that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. This essay will discuss both these views, along with examples from Oxford university study and Time magazine survey to demonstrate the points and support the claims. On the one hand, people in a number of countries are bored of long journey, they don't want to spend more time in their travel. Therefore, they wants to commute fast between cities, and hence they foresee that their Government should construct new rail lines. For example, Oxford university in 2015 researched that 60% of the total population in UK prefer to travel by air than by road, to travel faster. So from this example, it is clear that people dislike spending time sitting idle for longer duration. On the other hand, some people contradict this thinking, by saying that, the money should be spent on improving existing public transportation. Additionally, they want to get to their present local transport a stable one, and secure as well. Similarly, a survey done by Time magazine in 2018 reveals that almost 80% of the US population expressed interest in enhancing the available commute system. So, from this example, it is clear that public prefers to stay secured rather than experience comfortness. To conclude, public transport helps reducing global warming, and any money spent by Government comes from the taxes paid by people. Hence, this should be spent in a meaningful way, should be helpful, and beneficial to them. Finally, the respective country officials should stabilize the existing system before stepping into a new system.