If people want to contribute to the society, which of the following is the best way? 1. Riding bicycle or walking on foot2. Recycling the waste3. Buy local organic food

While modern technology has revolutionised the world significantly, some people argue that it is contributing to form a homogeneous world culture. I partly disagree with the above idea as modern technology allows us to interact with people from different cultural backgrounds and makes us realise and appreciate our own unique cultures. The modern technologies such as internet, television and mobile phones allow a wider connection and sharing of information among people all around the world. This may mean that many people follow the same trend and share interests, and people are more likely to be influenced by the dominant, most of the cases, western cultures. For example, a number of young Japanese people listen to western music, and follow a fashion trend that originates from western celebrities. If people overly admire foreign cultures and ignore their own traditions and cultures, it may be possible that the world becomes a single culture. Nonetheless, people are more aware of their own cultures, and appreciate the uniqueness. In fact, people travel to see different cultures, enjoy local cuisine, and learn foreign languages, and it is the modern technology that makes it easy to do these activities. While interacting with people from different countries, people actually realise the uniqueness of their own cultures. For instance, I have learnt a lot about my own country ever since I have lived outside of my country. This is because, people are interested in other cultures and I was asked many questions. I would have not been proud of my own country as much as I do now if I had not lived in overseas. In conclusion, although some people concern that modern technology leads to a single world culture, I believe that it assists in connecting people around the world and sharing different cultures while appreciating their own traditions.