If a product is good or it meet people's needs, people will buy it. Advertising is no more than a form of entertainment.

The necessity of something is thought to be the reason that persuades consumers buy products, according to their requirements. It is, therefore, considered by a few that advertisements do not have any impact on shopping. I disagree with this narrative and believe that the advertisements help buyers in shopping by making it more convenient and getting more discounts. It is accepted that need is perhaps the single most important factor that directly affects the shopping done by an individual. In other words, why would someone buy a product that he is not in need of. Thus, it is logical to think that the advertisements do not have any role in helping the customers to purchase something rather they are thought to entertain the public. For instance, it is obvious that a person in need of clothes will never visit a crockery shop, whatever the lucrative and attractive advertisements or discounts offered to him. Advertisements help people to buy their required goods in a number of ways rather than merely an entertainment source, as suggested by a few. Firstly, apprising customers on the various upcoming modern products with latest designs and technology to which they are unaware of, make their shopping more convenient. For instance, knowing the specifications of a tablet or a mobile phone through the ads displayed on the television makes it easier for an individual to select one that perfectly suits him by sitting at home rather than going to market and searching shops to find one. Furthermore, the upcoming trend of advertising mega-sales and discounts on products through the television and social networking sites facilitates customers to visit the market and buy their required things at a cheaper rate. In fact, many shops and brands are, nowadays, using the contact numbers of their regular customers to communicate them about their latest sales and designs. In conclusion, I consider that the advertisements not only help customers in shopping by making it more convenient, simpler and cost-effective. It is, however, recommended that a legislation must be made so that the companies and the traders should paint the true picture of their product rather than misleading the customers.