Human activity has had a negative impact on plants and animals around the world. Some people think that this cannot be changed, while others believe actions can be taken to bring about a change.

Human behavior has been damaging various ecosystems around the planet. While some people argue that this damage is irreversible, others argue that we can still save our planet. In this essay I will address both sides of the argument and then I will give my own perspective. On the one hand, some people say that we are in a helpless situation when it comes to reverse the damage we have caused. After the industrial revolution, a significant number of forests have been deteriorating. Moreover, numerous natural water sources were polluted. This amount of impact cannot be salvaged even if we try. The reason for this, is that humans have limited power when it comes to positively impacting environment. It has been proven throughout history that destruction is easier than construction when it comes to our species’ impact on the world. On the other hand, some people still have faith that humanity can reverse the negative impacts which it caused. They believe that changing our mindsets and behaviours towards our fellow inhabitants of this planet can have an outstanding improvement on the current situation. For example, the pollution levels in the Hudson river in New York have been decreasing significantly since 2008 when the US government passed a bill to mitigate chemical discharge in that water body. In conclusion. Although we might feel overwhelmed with the environmental damages we have caused, I believe that the situation can be reversed if we put the wellbeing of our planet as a priority. Of course education and media can play a major role for making us more optimistic and consequently more capable of change.