How do you think children should spend their free time?

Children's leisure activities are considered to serve a prominent role in their physical and mental growth. In the meanwhile, the huge number of hobbies and leisure-time activities mainly offered by technology can pose a real challenge for those parents who want their children to spend their time constructively. First and possibly foremost, part of children's free time should be spent on activities in peer groups, those simple games that are sometimes handed down from generation to generation. Participation in games can help children to acquire and apply a wide range of social skills, the ones they would never learn otherwise. These so-called childish games can teach them how to start and develop a relationship, defend their rights and compromise with other members of society. More importantly, they can teach children the basic principles of teamwork, and the necessity to collaborate with others to achieve a common goal. Those children who are deprived of interaction with their peers in games, possibly as a result of too much concentration on electronic entertainment, may face serious problems in their social relationships in the future. In fact, games are believed to be an indispensable part of children's socialization. Although modern schools try to include a range of extracurricular activities in their curriculum, it seems that children need to receive more education in arts, music and sports outside school. In fact, arts and music play a critical role in enhancing children's problem-solving and creativity, both of which are of significance in their future. Sports, on the other hand, teach children how to collaborate in a team and define their own success as the success of the whole group. It is because of these considerable benefits that successful growth of a child necessitates developing certain abilities apart from what they learn at school. So, participation in extracurricular classes in arts, sports, foreign languages and information technology should constitute a considerable proportion of children's free time, because such activities equip children with the qualifications that every single person is expected to have in the twenty-first century. Last but not least, children need to spend part of their free time with their parents. Being involved in social activities, parents sometimes neglect the importance and necessity of spending quality time with their offspring, under the impression that they are doing their best to send their children to the most prestigious schools, enrol them in more classes and meet all their demands immediately. This attitude has proved to be wrong, as psychologists do highlight the role of parents in children's socialization. In fact, parents are the most important agents of socialization, as they greatly help their children to identify themselves, learn social norms and become acquainted with their cultural heritage. A competent parent, then, is a father or mother who devotes their time to children, no matter how busy they appear to be. To sum up, I tend to think that children's free time should be allocated to peer activities, extracurricular programs and interaction with family members. All items being equality important, ignoring any of these factors can pose a threat to children's balanced growth.