High stakes English language tests, such as the IELTS, are increasingly being delivered on the computer Do the advantages of computer-based testing outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology is such an indisputable aspect of our life and technology already being implemented in numerous things in our life. Moreover, high-risk English tests, like IELTS, are having more tendency to be conducted on the computer. I strongly believe that we can gain a multitude of merit rather than the disadvantages. First off, the result of the test is faster, rather than a paper-based test. In addition, we don't need to go to an institution or a company that held the test itself, we can just wait for the result at our home because we can check it online. For example; I already took a mandarin test last month and I did the test by computer-based, and after I finished my exam and waiting for the result I was so surprised because the result it came up faster than I thought. When I took the paper-based test I need to wait for almost 1 month for the result, while utilizing computer-based it just needs to take 2 weeks for the result. Furthermore, we can save our time by doing a computer-based test. Moreover, if we took a paper-based test we need approximately 3-4 hours to complete the test, while, computer-based test only took 1-2 hours. There was a research conducted by a foreign language teacher from Monash University in 2015, he invited an array of students that have higher frequency to take a test. The result is showing that almost 90% of the participants are more likely to choose a computer-based test rather than the paper-based one. To conclude, a computer-based test has a plethora of beneficial things rather than demerits.