High stakes English language tests, such as IELTS, are increasingly being delivered on the computer. Do the advantages of computer-based testing outweigh the disadvantages?

In these recent years, standardised English language test, such as IELTS is leaning towards computer-based testing. While this might be a disadvantage to some, I believe the advantages outweigh the negatives. In this essay, I will elaborate my opinion. There are two negative sides of having the electronic-based examination. Firstly, this might not be suitable for someone who prefers to write the old-fashioned way with pen and paper. For example, my cousin who has a pretty bad eyesight after a car accident that happened during her childhood are not gadget literate at all. She has been put into strictly no blue light interaction unless it is beyond one meter away. Therefore, she is not used to type anything in front of the computer. Secondly, the artificial intelligence robot might not be so forgiving when it comes to mark the speaking part. Especially, when someone has a certain accent that may be difficult to catch. On the flip side, most people are getting used to chat with their virtual friend on social media rather than speaking with their real friends, so typing on the computer could be great positive points to them. Another benefit to write electronically, it is easier to be corrected. For instance, instead of grabbing the pen eraser and rewrite the whole passage, it is more convenient to press the delete button multiple times. Lastly, the reading and listening part will be done swiftly, as participant will not need the time to copy their answer to the answer sheet. In conclusion, the paper-based test is still a beneficial option for some people that prefer it and could be more forgiving when it comes to giving points. However, in my opinion, the digitalised test is faster, convenient, and saves time. As a result, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.