Health services are the basic necessity for a person. Private companies have made the health services quite costly for ordinary individuals. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh its disadvantages?

It is commonly believed that the extravagant price of healthcare has been attributed to the involvement of private enterprises, despite it being a fundamental need of every resident. The principle advantage of private health hospitals is the better facilities they can offer as compared to state-own institutions, while the main disadvantage that its high treatment cost makes ordinary people impossible to access the healthcare services they need. This essay agrees that its demerit outweigh the merit. Firstly, the principle advantage of healthcare services catered by private sector is that they can treat patients with higher-quality equipments, as well as offer clients with more personal care. This is because a private company makes enormous profits from treatment fee of its patients, which are relatively higher than that in public hospitals. Therefore, A lion’s proportion of this profit is invested back in equipping more advanced medical machines and facilities, as well as hiring and training top-notch specialists to serve its clients. However, the main disadvantage of the private healthcare system is the high price itself. To be more specific, only the affluent have enough money to pay for examination and treatment procedures conducted in private hospitals, while a person with low salaries may struggle to pay for medical bills. As a result, people would not have equal access to the services in profit-making hospitals, despite receiving medical treatment is a basic necessity. For example, a survey in 2019 depicts that an ordinary office worker would need up to 1 year to compensate for the money they spent on one time they visit a private hospital for general health examination. In conclusion, it is true that profit-oriented hospitals may offer equipments with higher quality than government-owned facilities. However, if the private sector offered a supportive policy to lower the treatment cost, more people would have equal access to its state-of-the-art facilities which it provides.