Health services are a basic necessity for a person Private companies have made health services quite costly for ordinary individuals. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh its disadvantages

It is commonly believed that private healthcare services are rather affordable for a mere person. This essay will analyse both merits and demerits of health services being catered by profit-making companies, and I think the disadvantages outweigh its advantages. On the one hand, state-owned healthcare institutions may benefit from private health companies. This is because private hospitals may share responsibilities with state hospitals in taking care of the public’s health, which decompresses the burden shouldered by national health systems in terms of overload of patients. With patients being allocated to a private hospital, the waiting lists for examinations and operations are substantially shortened in public hospitals. As a result, state-own health systems are free from the overload, enabling more human and facility resources to be available. Consequently, this system would allow each patient to be treated with higher quality as more machines and health staffs would be utilized per one person. On the other hand, the biggest disadvantage of the private healthcare system is its price being extravagant for many ordinary people. For example, one’s treatment fee in a profit-oriented hospital can twice or three times as high as it should be in those subsidized by the government. With such a high price, only the affluent can afford a treatment in a private hospital, while those with low salary cannot. Consequently, this situation would worsen the well-being of the society in a whole, and deepen the gap between the rich and the poor. In conclusion, while private hospitals truly reduce the pressure on government-owned hospitals regarding the overload of patients, the profit-yielding healthcare system may put even a greater burden on its clients because of its extravagant cost of treatment. Therefore, I believe its disadvantage obviously outweighs the advantage.