Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages?

In today's feed industry the use of chemicals has been increased considerably, in the form of additives or preservatives. It is defiantly not a good practise through many think it is. In my opinion, this trend has detrimental effects on people's health. On the one hand, many cuisine items available in the market, which has moderate to high levels of various chemicals to enhance it's tasty and make them more eye catching. Apart from this aspect of the preservation of snack, merely to improve the life and to retain freshness of it, preservatives are added along with the other ingredients. These chemicals are generally a form of antioxidants. Which prevent the bread from getting spoiled early. By these practices the shelf life of cuisine has been increased and thereby reducing wastage of cuisine. On the other hand, the chemicals are mainly also some colours which can infuse carcinogens in the body which lead to a cancer. Many feed dealers claim to have the added minerals and vitamins in their production items, but very less able to produce actual certificates of standards for these products. To illustrate the case, the feed items are wrapped generally in aluminium foil which has proven to be a cause for the Alzheimer's and some skin diseases. To sum up, I'm convinced that, usage of chemical agents in cooking, preservation and improvement are leading to the awful consequences.