Having a good university degree guarantees people a good job.

One of the highly contentious issues today relates to whether a job can be secured by obtaining a degree from university or is it the work experience that one should prefer to gain. In this essay, I strongly accord to the view that unless a degree is awarded by university, a job is not guaranteed. Besides, both opinions will be expatiated upon in greater detail and a reasoned conclusion will be reached. On one side of the argument, people argue that the merits of having a degree from university outweigh the disadvantages. The main reason for this is because careers such as: medicine, nursing and dentistry etc. , can only be taught in university. Furthermore, it is also possible to say that a degree from university is important as it is a prerequisite to getting a lucrative job. For instance, big companies like A. G Leventis and Nestle only accept applicants who have a university degree. On the other hand, while this side of the debate has some valid viewpoints, the opposing case can also be made. People also argue that not all kinds of jobs require a university degree; they believe jobs that deal with machines are hardly taught in detail, in the university. A good illustration of this is a study carried out by a professor at Harvard University. His findings revealed that 40% of engineering graduates lack the practical skills required for doing their jobs. In addition to this, it is not uncommon for us to find people holding a university degree but being without a job. In fact, a recent survey in Australia found that over 50% of unemployed youth have a university degree. After having discussed the pertinent points of this issue, I am inclined to the opinion that a degree from university is a necessity to procuring a profitable job.