Governments should spend more money on railways than roads. with this statement?

Compared to roadways, railways can be a better choice for government investments in transportation. I completely agree with this statement and in this essay, I will state the reasons for my view. Despite of the wide spectrum of the means of transport, trains could be preferred compared to the roads due to following reasons. Firstly, railways are more environment-friendly compared to cars. For instance, it is possible to run trains with electricity that can be generated via renewal fuels like hydro- electricity or solar power plants; compared to cars that mostly run on the carbon-emitting gasoline or petrol. Additionally, building better roads could mean that there are more cars on the roads producing more carbon-dioxide and other harmful gases that contribute to the global warming. Secondly, trains are more economical. Although the initial investment in the railway infrastructure could be high compared to roads, in long run it is more economical for the government as the cost is shared among the travelers. Additionally, train routes can be adjusted based on public’s demand to optimize their utility. Lastly, trains are less accident prone and more comfortable and faster means compared to cars. To illustrate, the bullet trains of Japan and Mag-lev trains in china set the examples of the high speed railways built with modern technology programmed to reduce accidents and fine-tune speed limits to reduce travel times. In conclusion, compared to cars, railways are is environment-friendly, economical and safe for the commuters. It is recommended, that governments invest more in public transport that is sustainable as well as offers better return on investment.