Governments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment.

As for various environment-related issues, it seems to reach a consensus that government need take initiatives to help their fellow citizens establish a green living environment. However, it is also advised that individuals are given compelling responsibilities to preserve the local environment they reside in. I firmly agree with it. Surely, the authority ought to give priority to environmental protection since this is closely associated with individuals' healthy life. Many measures need to be taken to improve the ecosystem. They should formulate to force people to conform to environmental laws. Besides, more money should be invested in public transport, such as buses, trams and subways. But this does not automatically represent that individuals are justified to keep out of the affair, particularly when it is relevant to their local living surroundings. Only when each resident gets involved in partaking of local environmental protection organisations, will they realise how bad the ecosystem is destroyed. Only when each resident becomes one member of volunteers, will they understand how essential is it to persuade the merchants to reduce the use of plastic bags. In addition, it is by no means to underestimate the strength of civilians which may have dramatic effects on the environment. For instance, local dwellers can make it available not to throw rubbish randomly on the road by posting the slogan or printing the pamphlets. This is more likely to result in a virtuous circle since less people tend to throw their household trash on the clean roads. To sum up, co-operation and participation deriving from the crowd have indispensable roles to play in safeguarding the natural environment. Individual citizens could and should play active roles provided that we really aspire to optimize our living environment.