Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations.

Instead of being conducted by private companies, important scientific research must be managed and administered by the governments, according to the opinions of many. I personally believe that private companies should be given their own freedom in doing research, but with sufficient and proper monitoring from the government. On one hand, it is true that scientific research should not be only conducted by the government. The main reason is that the scope of scientific research is diverse and wide, and private companies could cover up some research which is not carried out by the governments. Many private institutions or individuals' discoveries are useful for the humanity, as we can learn from the past. For example, Thomas Alva Edison was an individual inventor who has greatly contributed to the world with his inventions such as the light bulb, motion pictures, phonograph and so on. We should notice that the invention was not the main focus of the government’s research during that time, and thanks to Edison we have electric light today. On the other hand, although private companies give the right to do scientific research, they must be strictly monitored by the governments. They must be controlled, as some of them might be doing it for their monetary gain or for destructive weapons. For example, some companies might focus on developing biochemical weapons, and it could threaten the world peace. It is the governments’ job to prevent and block these kinds of research. In conclusion, I do not agree that scientific research should only be conducted by the governments. It is a fact that the scope of scientific research is huge. Therefore private companies should be allowed in doing research. However, I do agree with the research that is done by private companies must be reviewed, and monitored by the governments in order to avoid any misappropriation.